Meet the female MPs who will be in Ghana’s Eighth Parliament

Please FOLLOW & LIKE our PAGE on:


The eighth parliament of the Fourth Republic (7 January 2021 to 6 January 2025) will have 37 female Members of Parliament (MP).

They will constitute 12.75 per cent of MPs.

There were 36 women MPs in the 7th Parliament (2017-2021) initially, but Lydia Alhassan won the Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election, and that number increased to 37.

Both outcomes from the 2016 and 2020 elections fall short of the minimum UN recommended threshold of 30 per cent deemed satisfactory by activists at the Beijing Conference on Women held in 1995.

There were 16 women MPs out of 200 MPs of the First Parliament of the Fourth Republic (eight percent). That number has seen a steady climb through the years to the 37 out of 275 (13 percent) that will occupy the eighth Parliament.

Find below the list of MPs representing the two parties:

New Patriotic Party Women MPs-elect:

Join Our WhatsApp TV to Get Music and News Update on WhatsApp Status,Click (Here)

Lydia Seyram Alhassan – Ayawaso West Wuogon

Ursula Owusu-Ekuful – Ablekuma West

Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei – Akuapem North

Sheila Bartels – Ablekuma North

Sarah Adwoa Safo – Dome Kwabenya

Hawa Koomson – Awutu Senya East

Dakoa Yaa Newman – Okaikwei South

Patricia Appiagyei – Asokwa

Naana Eyiah – Gomoa Central

Ophelia Hayford – Mfantseman

READ ALSO:  See What Medikal Is Doing With Fella Makafui Amid Reports Of Him Expecting His 2nd Child With His Side-Chic | Videos

Hajia Lariba Abudu – Walewale

Cynthia Morrison – Agona West

Ama Pomaa Boateng – Juabeng

Francisca Oteng-Mensah – Kwabre East

Mavis Nkansah Boadu – Afigya Sekyere East

Adelaide Ntim Agyeiwaa- Nsuta-Kwamang-Beposo

Freda Akosua Oheneafrewo Prempeh – Tano North

Gifty Twum Ampofo – Abuakwa North

Abena Osei-Asare – Atiwa East

Tina Ayele Mensah – Weija-Gbawe

National Democratic Congress women winners:

Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings – Klottey Korle

Abla Dzifa Gomashie –Ketu South

Gizella Tetteh – Awutu Senya West

Theresa Lardi Awuni – Okaikoi North

Lydia Akanvarib Lamisi Adakudugu – Tempane

Dela Sowah – Kpando

Agnes Naa Momo Lartey – Krowor

Joycelyn Tetteh – North Dayi

Hellen Adwoa Ntoso – Krachi West

Queenstar Pokuwaa Sawyerr – Agona East

Angela Oforiwa Alorwu-Tay – Afadjato South

Rita Naa Odoley Sowah – La Dadekotopon

Dorcas Affo Toffey – Jomoro

Linda Obenewaa Akweley Ocloo – Shai-Osudoku

Sophia Karen Edem Ackuaku – Domeabra-Obom

Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah – Ada

Zewura Ibrahimah – Salaga South


What do you think?

Written by Blogger Mitch

I Am Nelson known by many as kwaku Mitch Am a Blogger, writer, Music Broadcaster, Graphics designers and an IT technician. If you wish to get your own professional website Contact me on +233541230806. Contact me also for any advertisement on [email protected]
DO you need help getting google AdSense on your site ? Then contact me on +233541230806 now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Breaking News: President Nana Akufo Addo Declared Winner Of 2020 Ghana Presidential Elections

‘Thank You Ghana For Voting 4More’ – Nana Addo Speaks After Winning The 2020 Presidential Seat